Take the World at new Level

The Waterboys Biography and Top 10 Songs

One of my old co-workers (Graig M) got me into The Waterboys because we used to travel around the UK repairing PCs and spent a lot of time driving and The Waterboys was one of his favorite CDs to play and then because I liked it, I used to listen to it more often. When I got paid for a month, I went to HMV and bought four Waterboys CDs (I often spend most of my salary on CDs and music) and listen to them a lot. Craig is also responsible for other music that I like.

The Waterboys were formed by Mike Scott in 1983 and Mike is the only member who has stayed from then until now. There have been many members over the years, some of which include: Anthony Thistlethwaite, Roddy Lorimer, Martyn Swain, Kevin Wilkinson, Eddi Reader, Karl Wallinger, and Chris Whitten. His musical style is a mixture of Celtic, folk and rock and roll. Some people have dubbed The Waterboys’ sound “The Big Music”, named after a song on the album A Pagan Place. The same term has been used to describe other bands such as World Party, The Alarm, Simple Minds, The Hothouse Flyers, and Big Country, with many of their songs focusing on spirituality. The name The Waterboys is taken from the song The Kids by Lou Reed.

The self-titled debut album The Waterboys was released in 1983 and features one of their most famous songs, A Girl Called Johnny. The song is a tribute to Patti Smith, who was a great inspiration for Mike Scott alongside artists like Bob Dylan and David Bowie. The original track listing only had eight songs, but the album was re-released in 2002 and has an additional seven songs.

When A Pagan Place was released in 1984, recording is known to have begun even before The Waterboys album was released. The recording was done in two separate sessions, one in 1982 and the second in 1983 with new band members joining for the second session. This album was also re-released in 2002 with additional songs from the first recording session. Following the release, The Waterboys toured the UK, also supporting U2 and The Pretenders at Glastonbury Festival.

1985 saw the release of This Is The Sea and it was much more successful than the previous two albums and features their biggest hit The Whole Of The Moon which reached number 26 in the UK. The song could have gotten more promotion, but Mike Scott refused to perform on Top Of The Pops because they insisted they lip sync.

The second phase of The Waterboys style began just before the release of Fisherman’s Blues in 1988 and saw them move from The Big Music to the Raggle Taggle Band style, which was influenced by Mike Scott moving to Ireland and folk music there. The album is his most successful album to date containing songs like Strange Boat, And A Bang On The Ear and Fisherman’s Blues.

Room To Roam was released in 1990 and followed the folk style of the previous album. The album is apparently named after a passage from a George MacDonald book, Phantastes. Some of the album’s hits include A Man Is In Love, The Raggle Taggle Gypsy, Further Up – Further In and Something That Is Gone.

My favorite of The Waterboys albums, Dream Harder was released in 1993 and is a return to the rockier style of their previous albums. The song The Return of Pan is about the Greek god, also the song The Return Of Jimi Hendrix is ​​one of my favorite tracks on the album. Some of the other hits on the album include Corn Circles, Glastonbury Song and Preparing to Fly.

A Rock In The Weary Land was released in 2000 and was the first in seven years due to Mike Scott going solo. The album saw another change in style inspired by Radiohead and Beck, with Mike Scott describing the style as “Sonic Rock”. Another change occurred in 2003 when they released Universal Hall, which is primarily an acoustic album and a return to some of their earlier Celtic records. music.

In 2007, The Waterboys released a new album, Book Of Lightning, containing some new hits such as Love Will Shoot You Down, You In The Sky and The Man With The Wind At His Heels. The Waterboys played at the Return To Peace And Love Festival in Sweden on March 11, 2008.

My top 10 songs from The Waterboys are:

01. Glastonbury Song

02. Jimi Hendrix Returns

03. All the moon

04. A pagan place

05. All the things she gave me

06. We are Jonas

07. Strange Ship

08. The great music

09. Winter Winter

10. Spirit City

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *